Big Announcements for 2023

Dear friends,

We have an exciting announcement to share!

We are thrilled to join The New School’s College of Performing Arts family as their newest Ensemble-in-Residence, alongside esteemed ensembles such as The JACK Quartet, The Westerlies, and The Vanguard Orchestra.

Starting this semester, we will launch our teaching, learning, and performing initiatives. We will teach workshops, host forums, lecture, perform, and lead collaborative courses with students across the College of Performing Arts.



This summer, The College of Performing Arts at The New School will host our eighth annual summer percussion seminar. From June 4th-10th, students have the opportunity to study, rehearse, and perform side-by-side with Sandbox Percussion. Through daily rehearsals, coachings, and workshops, participants will develop core chamber music skills, and learn how to create a modern musical career. We’ll also invite guests from a variety of artistic disciplines to share their expertise and creative journey to inspire, teach, and work with students of the 2023 seminar. This year’s guests include composer Amy Beth Kirsten, cellist Jeffrey Zeigler, and choreographer Francesca Harper.


The week-long seminar will end with a culminating performance of chamber works with each group, as well as a large group work that will be performed by the entire seminar community. Check out our Instagram and YouTube to see some pictures and videos from last year’s seminar!

If you or anyone you know is interested in attending, more information is available here, along with the application.

Our touring schedule ramps up again this weekend, with a performance of Andy Akiho’s Seven Pillars at the Yale Schwarzman Center. In addition to this performance at Yale – the graduate school where the 4 of us met – we will spend a few days working with students across the different departments at Yale. Please click here for more information about this performance, and see a full list of our tour stops in February below.

We hope to see you soon!

Ian, Jonny, Terry, and Victor